Posted by: Valerie | October 3, 2009

Saturday, Scatterday


Yes, a scattered day really. I had all sorts of plans for the day but somehow they all came to naught. In my mind I was going to do some studying this morning on the wider aspects of blogging and how it can be used to generate a strong web presence – this, for my client in Ottawa. It is a very complicated business and I feel as if I  were wading through treacle at the moment. No doubt this will improve in time – at least I hope so.

Anyway I got side-tracked again into the land of Joe’s book. However all files are now in the hands of the printer. I was going to write “safe” hands but I’m still unsure about that.

The sun was shining brightly and the sky was clear and blue this afternoon so Joe and I grabbed our rough-hewn sticks (Who am I kidding? They are not hewn at all – just sticks we picked up in the woods) and took off up the hill for a walk with Charlie the cat who always comes with us, although by the time we have done our loop through the bush, he is usually completely knackered, poor puss. The woods are beginning to look quite lovely now but the colours have not yet peaked. I expect they will be in their full glory by next weekend when the kids come.

Joe and Charlie on the trail

Joe and Charlie on the trail

George, the fellow who lives behind us has a cottage a long way up the back. He is a rather unkempt loner with a fierce dog and he is an avid do-it-yourselfer. Unfortunately he has erected a large steel quonset-type shed in a part of his land that abutts right on ours. It is a terrible eyesore – at least I think so. Joe, I’m sure, covets it! George plans to build himself a house on his property and has picked a location, again bordering on a triangle of Joe’s property and he wants to buy a corner of it so that if we ever sell up he won’t have close neighbours. I’m not so sure about this as I think it might detract from our chances if we ever did want to sell. Of course every winter we decide to sell and every spring we decide to stay.

This evening Joe made dinner and very good it was too! Of course it had a European taste to it but all the better for that. We had chicken sauted with lovely red peppers and mushrooms with tarhonya, with is a sort of tiny noodley thing. It was really delicious! Any time Joe wants to cook I never demur.

Responses

  1. Val,
    This is the first time I have read a blog .. and I must say it is kinda neat!! Keep it up .. much easier than writing a letter. Perhaps I should have my own .. or maybe that would be too technical.

    Sue

  2. Do you end up carrying Charlie home? Maybe you should have a little backpack for the inevitable. However, I think it is beyond charming that Charlie wants to go for a walk with you in the first place.

    • Charlie doesn’t like to be carried at all and would rather stop for rests now and then and hurtle after us at full gallop to catch up. One day when he with us I saw a wolf disappearing into the woods not too far away and I picked him up pretty fast then. I’m sure he would have made a tasty hors d’oeuvre!


Leave a Reply

Categories

