Posted by: Valerie | November 15, 2009

Home again, home again, joggity-jog


I loaded up the van for my trip to Ottawa and set out really early on Thursday morning, by which I mean I was on the road by 7.30 am. Normally I’m still unconscious  at that time but needs must. Actually it was a very pretty ride to Ottawa over the back hills which were covered in a heavy frost. Everything looked rather ethereal. I put on some good music on and cruised along quite happily with only one watering stop at my favourite little greasy spoon restaurant in the village of Griffith at about the half way point.

Poor Angela was really quite sick when I got there and I got stuck right into my grandmotherly duties. Deklin really is a lovely baby with lots of smiles and gurgles and an iron will when it comes down to giving in to Morpheus. He does sleep at night though but daytime is for interacting with his world. Son James is a wonderful Daddy and is quite at home with diaper changing and feeding and he even does laundry. The young master performed a beautiful high-arching pee and soaked my cotton sweater, bless him. Fortunately it was rather large and saggy because by the time it had been through the wash and the dryer it was somewhat snugger than originally! Air-dry only it said.

When James and Angela were in Bancroft last time they bought a two-seater couch and of course had no room in the car to take it home so my trip gave me the opportunity to take them their new-old piece of furniture. The van is very convenient for such situations but I didn’t expect that I would be returning with more than I took! On the second day I was there Angela was feeling a bit better and started doing some sorting. So… I returned with a bamboo patio set for our back deck next spring and three huge boxes of books for recycling at the charity shop in town.

So here I am – home again.  I’m happy to report that Angela is better and no-one else is sick. It was fun to be around the little guy at close quarters and get to know him better. Baby-duty is tiring though – for grandmas anyway!

When I arrived home Joe’s daughter Liz and her husband were here from Oshawa. Good job they brought lunch because the cupboard was truly bare. Then Katherine, Joe’s granddaughter arrived and a merry time was had by all. The Likuski family has a talent for falling asleep when they come here – maybe it’s something in the air. Anyway Liz managed to stay awake, Howard had a short upright nap and Katherine… well…

 

Today was clear up day. Our room reno has proceeded somewhat since I’ve been away and today I painted it. The colour wasn’t what I thought it would be but it’s nice enough – a soft yellowy green. Now if the guy would only return to finish the job! He keeps disappearing for a few days at a time.

A sad but not unexpected footnote to today’s post – Mrs. Spruce Grouse has gone to be with Mr. Spruce Grouse who passed away last week owing to a combination of crashing into a window and meeting the cat. Her remains were found at the end of the driveway.

No photos with this post as I am having trouble loading them tonight. Maybe I will be able to add them tomorrow.

Responses

  1. Glad you are home safely.

  2. Shouldn’t that be “wile” the hours away?
    Otherwise, your cat is quite a good editor!

    • I think I’d have to take that under advisement, Betty. I still think it’s “while”. Let’s ask Julia.


Leave a Reply

Categories

